Welcome to Sangre de Cristo

I arrived safely in Albuquerque, New Mexico on Monday afternoon, February 5, 2007. I wish I could say the same for my luggage. Luckily, the airlines located my luggage and delivered the two pieces of luggage to the Center the very next morning.

We were warmly greeted at the airport by Br. Joseph Schmidt and transported to Sangre de Cristo Center an hour and a half trip north by shuttle van. Once at the Center we were welcomed by the other staff members: Br. Dennis Galvin, Sister Susan Kusz, Sister Helen Collier and Cynthia Gray.

Sangre de Cristo Center is located approximately 13 miles outside of Santa Fe, New Mexico. It is situated in the midst of 600 acres of “desert” approximately 7,500 feet above sea level making this the highest desert in the United States of America.

There are 36 participants (priests, brothers and sisters) arriving from all over the globe.

I invite you to journey with me during my next “100 Days in the Desert.” I will share some thoughts and photos at the end of each week.

Let’s pray for each other.

main-entrance.jpg
The Main Entrance to Sangre de Cristo Center

right-side-of-center.jpg
Right side of main entrance

entrance-way.jpg
Main Entrance Door

view-out-from-main-entrance.jpg
View out from main entrance

mountain-view.jpg
Pajarito Mountain (View from Main Entrance)

12 Responses to “Welcome to Sangre de Cristo”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Maureen Macellaro Says:

    John:
    Glad to hear you arrived safely. What a beautiful prayerful place to be for the next 100 days! Keeping in my prayers everyday.
    Maureen

  3. Brendan Says:

    It looks like a beautiful place, John. You’ll be in my prayers, of course, during this journey. Peace, brother.

  4. Pattye Says:

    What a contradiction! Snow in the desert! Life is full of contradictions and the cross is the one of the biggest. Know that you are being prayed for daily!

  5. Susan at Sangre Says:

    Viewing this as a Sangre insider, I’m having many a chuckle, John. You have a great sense of humor! May all your days here be just as pleasant as these new beginnings.

  6. Carla Escobar Says:

    Hi Fr. John…como se siente…con las manos!
    The view of Pajarito mountain is beautiful…enjoy your 100 days…orare por usted…cuidese mucho…we miss you at the parish center!
    con mucho take ease!

  7. Tony of Massachusetts Says:

    John,

    Thank you for sharing your experiences and insights with us. We, family and friends, are praying for you and enjoying accompanying you on your journey – in many ways its a privelege.

    Only a quick additional comment to Susan at Sangre. I would only you caution you regarding ‘encouraging’ the good Father re his ‘great’ sense of humor. After 25 years of experiencing his chuckles, John does not need further reinforcement here – we on the outside still have a lifetime to deal with . . . or rather appreciate that special gift.

    As John well knows, I offer this in fraternal and supportive love.

  8. Tony of Massachusetts Says:

    John,

    Great to get your insights, we pray for you virtually daily. We are very excited for you and appreciate being on the journey with you.

    A quick note to Susan the insider – I would advise caution of encouraging Dear Fr. John’s humor. For those of us who know and love John and hope to continue to do so for a long time, we can assure you, his humor needs no encouragement.

    Truly though, we are happy that John has a supportive group of new friends.

  9. Jonathan Says:

    Your reflections are a wonderful part of my Lenten journey. The photos are excellent, I had no idea you were so gifted Fr John. I will pray for the journey in the desert. Peace

  10. Gia Says:

    Fr. John,

    Sounds (and looks) like you are having a wonderful experience. Great insights, awesome pictures. Don’t mean to rush you, but I look forward to your return. You are in my prayers. As for your jokes, be careful. You tell enough bad ones and your nose starts to run, your feet begin to smell, and before you know it you realize you were built upside down. THERE, now they can’t say YOU tell the WORST jokes 🙂
    God Bless.

    — Gia

  11. Elissa Says:

    Father John-
    I just looked at your amazing pictures. I won’t pretend I am not somewhat jealous. I’m sure you will return feeling renewed and very much alive…. We miss you at the rock mass!
    ~Elissa

  12. Gonzalo Says:

    Hi, Padrecitoooo:
    COMO SE SIENTE???… (I know…con las manos.!!!)
    It sorpress to much me that you are on that heden worlds … but I really wish the best…. for now while you are there and when you comeback. I hope sonn!!) ahh remember: “Con calma y con paciencia el burro subio la palma….porque….!!! You know what I am talken about…
    I just want to say hello and that you still the best supervisor..(what is your name again???) Receive a very worm hug and my prayers. haa if you was able to understand some of my broken english please send me your cell phone number… I lost all my contact numbers from my cell. Thanks and God bless you.

Leave a Reply

