Palm Sunday – April 1, 2007

On Saturday evening, March 31, our “Eight Day Silent Retreat” was brought to a conclusion with the celebration of the Vigil Mass of Palm Sunday. The retreat was a very powerful experience for me. It was only by going through the experience of silence for eight days that I came to realize how really conducive silence is for the interior work we were doing during the retreat.

I met with my spiritual director each day for a half hour to talk about what was going on in my life through my prayer. We reflected on the topics that I wrote about in my journal. I would say that this has been the finest retreat experience I have ever had. As I reflected last week, the work that went into the preparation for this retreat was really one of the main reasons why it was so successful for me and the rest of us. I was also blessed with a wonderful spiritual director, Br. Joseph Schmidt. Actually, there are four very fine spiritual directors on the staff at Sangre. We are blessed to have them working with us.

Earlier in the week we celebrated the Feast of the Annunciation. I would like to share with you the print and poem that decorated the front of the altar in our chapel.

the-annunciation.jpg
The Annunciation by Henry Tanner

“On her bed of doubt
in wrinkled night garment,
She sat, glancing with fear
at the golden shaft of streaming light,
pondering perhaps, “Was this
but a sequel to a dream?”
This light too bright for disbelief,
yet its silence eased not her trembing.
Somehow she murmered a “YES”
And with that the light’s love and life
pierced her womb.
The room remained the same
-rug still needed smoothing,
-jug and paten awaited using.
Now all was different
In a maiden’s
soft but firm “FIAT.”
(Robert F. Morneau)

We were encouraged to spend soome time in doing some sort of artwork so I decided to create three additional “Ojos de Dios.” They are pictured below.

2nd-retreat-ojo-de-dios.jpg
First “Ojo” using the colors of the altar cloth in our chapel

1st-retreat-ojo-de-dios.jpg
Second “Ojo”

3rd-retreat-ojo-de-dios.jpg
Third “Ojo”

Here are some photos of the closing liturgy of the retreat: the Vigil of Palm Sunday.

frank-doyle.jpg
Fr. Frank Dolye, OSA, opens our Palm Sunday Liturgy outside the main entrance to Sangre with the “Celebration of the Lord’s Triumphal Entry into Jerusalem.”

palm-sunday-1.jpg
The “Celebration of the Lord’s Triumphal Entry into Jerusalem” continues.

palm-sunday-2.jpg
The Liturgy of the Eucharist.

palm-sunday.jpg
Part of our Palm Sunday Environment.

As we enter Holy Week let me close with a beautiful print that I call “The Full Measure of God’s Love.”

the-full-measure-of-love.gif

I wish you all the blessings and graces of this week we call “Holy.”

Leave a Reply

