Water Coloring Classes Come To An End – May 2, 2007

This past Monday I completed the Water Coloring Class part of my sabbatical. It was a great experience learning the basics of this art form. I hope that I will be able to continue studying water coloring and become more proficient as an artist.

art-class-1.jpg
Br. Jospeh Schmidt (seated) instructs us on various techniques of painting.

I invite you now to view my last three paintings.

mirror-image.jpg
Learning the technique of painting mirror imaging in a lake setting.

sail-boats.jpg
Continuing to use the technique of mirror imaging and adding the technique of negative painting (The sails of the boats are created using tape. The tape is removed when the painting is completed giving the sense of the sails being painted white.)

final-exam.jpg
For our last picture we were free to paint any scene of our choice. This is my version of a famous water color painting by Benson.

Next Thursday, May 10, 2007, I will post the last blog of my sabbatical. Please join me for the last time next week. I will be returning to St. Brigid’s Church in Westbury, New York on Tuesday, May 15, 2007.

2 Responses to “Water Coloring Classes Come To An End – May 2, 2007”

  1. John Soricelli Says:

    Hey Father John
    you truly have talent for painting water color, next is the street corners of the city selling your paintings for the poor, or just hang on the walls of PA and westbury. Great, great paintings

    your friend
    John

  2. Brendan Says:

    Spectacular pictures, especially the mirror imaging one. I do hope that you’ll be able to continue painting. You seem to have a talent. Enjoy your final days at peace w/ the Lord.

Leave a Reply

